It’s raining. Guess that makes it time for a grilled cheese sandwich (dairy-free)

Whenever Ash goes out of town, decisions in the kitchen get questionable pretty quick. But, my culinary laziness coupled with dreary Sunday weather make an excellent occasion for dairy-free grilled cheese sandwiches!

Voila. A melty, gooey, savory snack that takes me home:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The dairy-free starting lineup for ma sammich: 365 Multi-seed vegan bread, Earth Balance butter, Follow Your Heart cheese, Vtopian Aged White Cheddar cultured cashew cheese, and an apple. Everything shown here is at any Whole Foods and they have several different flavors. Except Vtopian (vtopiancheeses.com) which I bought at Riverdel Vegan Cheese in Brooklyn (riverdelcheese.com)

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
How do I know my bread is vegan? Bottom left-hand corner. If you’re in a hurry in the grocery store, this is my quick reference. Otherwise, you can review the ingredient list, avoiding any listing dairy.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Why apple slices on a grilled cheese sandwich? Why not! This idea came from Riverdel when we were there last weekend. Gives it a nice crunch and subtle sweet (and helps me pretend this is even close to healthy).
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Magic in process. Grill, baby, grill.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Perfection.

 

Leave a comment